Skip To Content

Best Auto Repair, Cincinnati

11245 Reading Road Cincinnati, OH 45241

513-530-8726
Opening Hours
  • Mon 8:00AM - 5:00PM
  • Tue 8:00AM - 5:00PM
  • Wed 8:00AM - 5:00PM
  • Thu 8:00AM - 5:00PM
  • Fri 8:00AM - 5:00PM
  • Sat Appointment Only
  • Sun Closed
CONTACT US

You Don't Have to Take Our Word for It!

Here's what some of our satisfied customers have to say about Cincinnati Transmission Specialists:

reviewicon
07/20/2020

Josh and Rick at Cincinnati Transmission are amazing, honest, and knowledgeable. This is absolutely the only place to take your car!



reviewicon
07/13/2020

The staff was amazing. They went above and beyond to make sure I had everything I needed. Took me to get a rental car and even gave me a ride home when the rental place couldn't help me. Definitely recommend!



reviewicon
07/11/2020

Cincinnati Transmission saved me from a full transmission overhaul to a minor repair. This family business also does more than transmission work with top quality service and value. Their level of professionalism is top notch as they put up with me and I know I can be a pain when it comes to matters impacting the wallet especially in current times. Develop a relationship with this shop and no more looking around when next thing needed repair comes up. Thanks again to Cincinnati Transmission for the top notch work they did on my car... hasn’t run this smooth in years!!



reviewicon
06/09/2020

Josh Meyer, and every staff member I spoke with was very kind and helpful. They explained any work being done to my car and why it was necessary to be taken care of. I will continue to take my car to them for all future automotive repairs.



reviewicon
03/13/2020

Rick, Josh, and all the guys are the best!



reviewicon
03/09/2020

I took my s10 in for diagnostics on the transmission, and after a series of test drive was able to determine that a shift solenoid was bad. I came in with the idea of needing a new transmission obviously would be a costly option, but Josh saved me a ton of money with the correct diagnostics. Only took 2 days to get the truck working again. **New Review since I can't leave two reviews** 3-9-2020 I took my 2008 Lexus IS250 AWD to them for a terrible noise coming from the rear. I explained what had happen to Dustin Svenkerud and he assured that everything was going to be fine and Josh Meyer was going to diagnose the problem. Dustin called me back same day and informed me that my differential input bearing had burned up. They had me back on the road within a couple days with full repairs. The cost was very reasonable without breaking the bank. I will be a customer for life.



reviewicon
03/04/2020

Great bunch of guys eager to help.



reviewicon
02/19/2020

I have been taking my vehicle to Rick for years. Through all the issues I have had with my cars, Rick was always fair, matter of fact, and explained everything in a way I could understand. Being someone who is not as knowledgeable when it comes to repair work, etc. on vehicles, not once have I felt cheated or exploited by Cincinnati Transmission Specialists. No matter the problem, the shop is always able to diagnose the issue, walk me through the process and have the problem fixed before I knew it. I can't speak higher of this shop, the management and the workers overall. The professionalism displayed is refreshing when positive customer service experiences seem to be far and few in between. 10/10 recommend and will continue to take all my personal vehicles here and recommend my friends/family do so as well.



reviewicon
02/13/2020

Theses guys are the best no questions asked. I took them my truck in May of 2018 to have a built transmission put in my truck due to the fact the old one was going out and all this truck does is pull a trailer. They put in a great transmission loved it. Now fastward to early this year I had to take it back because something was not right. They took it in and checked it out found something failed and it went out it was under warranty still. They completely redid e everything on it and installed a cable I was going to do myself and never charged me a dime. I will not go anywhere else for this type of work again hard to find someone who will stand behind what they say they will do now a days but not these guys other shops could learn something from Rick Josh and the whole crew up there. From the bottom of my heart that k you very much for your help you have a life long customer and I will send others to you also.



reviewicon
02/11/2020

Friendly and Helpful



reviewicon
12/31/2019

Couldn't ask for better service



reviewicon
12/31/2019

One of the best!



reviewicon
12/31/2019

Wow! Believe the hype! This is one of the best shops in the city. My car broke down in West Chester on Thursday ?? They helped me get a tow & I had my car back for the weekend!! Their front desk people are very up front, very helpful, and very nice. I'll never get my work done anywhere else!



reviewicon
12/31/2019

Great place to get your car worked at.



reviewicon
11/20/2019

Our 2012 Ford Explorer broke down when we were driving from Northern Michigan to Orlando this year. We woke up in Cincinnati on a Saturday with no power steering or terrain control in heavy rain. Cincinnati Transmission got us in for an inspection on Saturday morning.It was a recall problem missed by our local Ford dealership in Michigan, but Ford was unhelpful and would not pay or preapproved the repairs. Waiting for a Ford dealership to work on the car would take several weeks. Cincinnati transmission was extremely friendly, helpful and competent. They went into high gear and obtained and installed the module and re-programmed the car?s computer by mid afternoon on Monday. Their charges were very reasonable. We highly recommend them.



reviewicon
10/24/2019

I dropped off my old fairlane a while back because it was blowing trans fluid and oil all over everywhere after rolling it for awhile. Obviously the dude I bought it from had done some work to hide the issues, so by the time I'd run a few thousand miles, the thing was a waterfall, I couldn't drive it anywhere and feel good about it. So I took the lump and dropped it off at CTS at the recommendation of a pal. They had the thing for longer than expected due to part availability, but when I got it back, the motor and trans were spotless, they had tuned the carb and adjusted the timing in addition to the work that I'd asked them to perform. The service was excellent and I couldn't be happier driving this thing around and not having to worry about f**king up my friend's driveways. I'll be dropping off more of my junk for these dudes to wrench.



reviewicon
10/11/2019

They rebuilt a 1996 Chev. Lumina for me



reviewicon
09/26/2019

Top notch crew!



reviewicon
09/17/2019

I have been taking my cars to Cincinnati Transmission Specialist for 15 years. Rick and Josh are very trustworthy, which is the first quality I look for in a mechanic shop. I have multiple drivers in the family and own 6 cars with half over 100K miles. Any time something seems wrong as well as when it?s time for regular maintenance, Cin Tran is my first call. They are very accommodating with my schedule and will let me know the timeframe it will take for the maintenance based on their schedule. I feel confident and comfortable that they will tell me if something is minor and doesn?t need immediate attention or let me know if something needs to be addressed right away. They have and continue to earn my trust and respect.



reviewicon
08/01/2019

Fast, friendly, professional, fair prices.



reviewicon
07/26/2019

We were traveling from Michigan when our truck pulling our camper started acting up. I called 4 places that could not see us. 1 place gave us the number to call here. While Rick and Josh said to come on in we will be waiting for you. They were wonderful, prompt, did not take advantage of us. We were at there mercy. THANK YOU so much.



reviewicon
07/16/2019

Quick service, very friendly staff, and extremely helpful. They were able to get my car in the same morning I had just brought it in to get checked out. Prices were very reasonable, and they were able to get it done a little faster than estimated.



reviewicon
07/04/2019

Josh and Cincinnati Transmission Specialist have been amazing over the last 5+ years we have been going there! They are always so friendly and explain everything that is going on with my cars. They always give me the best price and I would never take my cars anywhere else. Doesn?t matter if the problem is big or small they can fix anything and very timely. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a new place to take their cars.



reviewicon
07/01/2019

The kind folks at Cintrans have maintained our fleet of heavy duty carpet cleaning trucks for many, many years. Josh and Rick and their crew are experts in just about anything. Engines replaced, transmissions , tune ups, steering isues, electrical. You name it ,odds are they will fix it right the FIRST time and do it at a fair price . Way cheaper than dealers. The place to go! Mike Murrie Steamex Eastern Custom Carpet Care.



reviewicon
06/21/2019

Folks, if you are having trouble finding a top-notch shop to work on your vehicle to...look no further. Honestly!. I have taken a couple vehicles to Josh and his crew and have found nothing except courtesy, quality and most of all integrity!!! He actually took care of the transmission on my Chrysler 2003 Town and Country after another mechanic had already "fixed" it but wouldn't guarantee it. Josh replacement my trans and guaranteed his work. As it turns out this guarantee was not even necessary...40,000 miles later we are still running like new. One final note...I'm not sure why others felt compelled to leave bad reviews here but I can tell you that Josh and his crew have been so good to me that I recently had a vehicle towed 40 miles despite the fact there is another repair shop just 3 miles away. The honesty, integrity and commitment to quality are by all mean worth the couple extra bucks for the tow. Thank Josh and crew...once again....great work!



reviewicon
05/24/2019

They don't communicate in a timely manner and they kept my car for a month to put in a second transmission!



reviewicon
03/19/2019

Took my car there to inspect work done by another transmission shop. Gave me very good insight into the issues I was having, talking points for bringing it back up to the shop that did the work, etc. Was very pleased with the organization of the shop, way they conducted themselves on the phone, and the overall service received. Would definitely go back again.



reviewicon
01/16/2019

My trans starting shifting erratically on the way to work and this was the nearest transmission shop. These 2 guys, Josh and Justin, I think, said I was only low on transmission fluid. They put a quart in and didn't even charge me ! Can't believe it, I was ready to spend a ton on a new trans and it cost me nothing by going there.



reviewicon
06/15/2018

Josh Meyer and his team were great to work with. My experience was nothing less than outstanding!!! I called Cincinnati Transmission to get a 2nd opinion of a diagnosis of transmission issues from another business with my 2008 Toyota Sienna. He offered to squeeze it into his already full and busy schedule because of a upcoming trip I had planned. He was incredibly thorough in his inspection of my van and determined that it did not need a transmission replacement at all! Rather the issue was a clogged air filter and a dirty throttle body sensor! It was a huge savings to me and gave me peace of mind that everything was okay with my van. Josh saved me the huge expense of needless and ficticious work that another place wanted to perform. Josh was easy to work with, returned phone calls as needed, and even sent pictures of what the issues were. I will be a returning custumer and recommending this local business to all my friends!!!



reviewicon
05/05/2018

Unquestionably the best auto repair experience I've had. Immediate service, fair price, and on-time completion just as they estimated. When an unexpected additional issue was found (that was not their fault) they even handled that perfectly and did everything they could to ensure we were satisfied. My family will work with them exclusively from now on.



reviewicon
04/21/2018

Really nice people to do business with - very accommodating & show great concern also.



reviewicon
12/22/2017

One of the best service experiences I have ever had. They diagnosed my transmission problem in spite of the dealer stating that there was none. The car is still under warranty and so I have to take it back to the dealer. Cincinnati Transmission did not even charge me for a lot of diagnostic work. They could have just flushed the system as I had asked but they heard that something was wrong. Just flushing the system was not the answer and they did not hesitate to do the right thing. Now I hope the dealer has the same integrity.



reviewicon
11/09/2017

Absolutely by far the best experience I've ever had with getting my car serviced. Josh and Rick took care of me and 100% exceeded my expectations which were rather high to begin with. I was on the fence on trading my car in but with a 3 year warranty on my rebuilt transmission i couldn't pass it up. Absolutely recommend these guys for any sort of transmission work!



reviewicon
10/15/2017

These guys are fast and trustworthy. Will not take my honda anywhere else



reviewicon
10/07/2017

Very fair and honest . Thought transmission was slipping ended up being something else that was alot less expensive to fix.



reviewicon
06/26/2017

I took my SUV to the dealer to find out that my rear differential had gone out. The dealer quoted me a fairly high price to complete the repair. I came across Cincinnati Transmission and gave them a call. Josh explained the options and I was able to get a used differential with a better warranty than the dealer offered, not to mention Cincy Trans was 2/3 the price. Josh was professional and was able to get my car done in a reasonable amount of time. I would definitely recommend reaching out to them to see if they can help you. Thank you Cincinnati Transmission for doing great work at an affordable price!



reviewicon
06/17/2017

Great people



reviewicon
05/30/2017

I went to Cincinnati Transmission on a Friday before a holiday weekend. I did not expect to be able to get my car back on short order even though I asked if it was possible. Josh let me know that they were very busy, as was obvious by the number of cars in the stalls and waiting service, but that they would see what they could do. I had heard that before from other shops and was not holding out much hope but Josh was able to deliver above and beyond what was expected! Everyone I encountered at Cincinnati Transmission was very professional and courteous not to mention that the shop and waiting area were clean and in very good order. I sincerely appreciate the fine work they did as well as the attention to detail that they maintained. I highly recommend Cincinnati Transmission Specialists and will be back for any of my cars that need their service.



reviewicon
11/03/2016

Stopped leaking transmission and had great communication! Thanks!



reviewicon
10/21/2016

Simply the very best service in the city. They service our entire fleet in a timely manner, and always at a fair price. Easy to deal with and honest. Fast turnaround times are important to keeping our business going, we rely on our trucks daily and trust that when the work is done... it's done right the first time. Rico Booker Service Manager Watson's Pools & Spas of Cincinnati



reviewicon
10/03/2016

Worked with Josh to get the transmission rebuilt on my jeep. Quote was spot on and price allowed me to get some extra things done. Will be back for future needs.



reviewicon
10/03/2016

Great customer service. Very knowledgeable technicians. They are very clean and respectful of your car, and do not try to up-sell for unnecessary services. Cincinnati Trans is the only place that my family trusts with our vehicles.



reviewicon
10/03/2016

I have been bringing my vehicles to Cincinnati Transmission Specialists for years and they have performed a variety of services for me - AC repair, brake/rotor replacement, spark plug and battery issues to name a few. The team is extremely professional and provides a thorough explanation of what has happened, what needs to be done to fix the issue and what this will cost. Updates are provided to the customer throughout the process and repairs are timely. Prices are extremely fair. I appreciate the transparency provided by the entire team and highly recommend their services.



reviewicon
10/03/2016

I had my Honda Accord transmission rebuilt here 5 years ago and it ran like new after their work. Recently, my 1999 BMW 528i needed an overhaul. The cost would have been excessive for such an old vehicle, but they recommended a used transmission with a 3 year warranty at about half the cost of a rebuild. I went with that, and although it took almost 2 weeks (with a rental provided), I am very happy with the results. My car runs like new again!



reviewicon
10/03/2016

Rick Lamping and his team are so efficient and well priced, anytime I need a repair or even an oil change I go to Cincinnati transmission specialist.



reviewicon
10/01/2016

Always great service and timely repairs. The only time I had any issue was with a part and they stood by it and made things right, above and beyond what they needed to do.



reviewicon
09/30/2016

This is the best shop in Cincinnati and the only shop we ever take our cars in my family. Their customer service is stellar!



reviewicon
09/17/2016

These guys are the best. Took really good care of me. Made sure my car was up to par. Since I am new to the area and going to school here I was lost without my car. They checked everything and got me back on the road with confidence that I will be safe. They are family owned and operated and you get that feeling of trust dealing with them. They will have all my business in the future.



reviewicon
08/30/2016

Great service. Very fair and easy to do business with. I was able to manage repairs on my daughters car in Cincinnati from Chicago.



reviewicon
02/29/2016

great experience from start to finish. Service manager Josh Meyer answered all my questions and seemed extremely knowledgeable. customer service is great and they stand behind their work.



reviewicon
02/18/2016

They did a great job on my Audi!



reviewicon
01/31/2016

The team at Cincinnati Transmission have serviced and conducted repairs on my automobiles for many years. The work they have done has ranged from addressing complex transmission issues to rather straight forward bearing replacements. In all cases their ability to quickly and accurately identify the specific problem has been excellent. The repair work they have completed for me has been of exceptionally high quality. They also stand behind their work and they are good people. I would recommend them to anybody needing transmission or drivetrain repairs.



reviewicon
01/18/2016

Cincinnati Transmission Specialists is Fantastic! They have taken excellent care of my family's vehicles for several years now. Their pricing is fair and the work is top notch. They truly treat customers like family, and will continue to earn my business.



reviewicon
08/07/2015

You guys rock. Fair prices, fast service! Our transmission shop of choice!



reviewicon
11/28/2013

These guys will treat you right



reviewicon
02/08/2014

Customer service at its best!! Honesty goes a long way!!



reviewicon
01/25/2016

Great service. Had 60-70k on the transmission when we sold the truck and it still felt new. Great warranty and quality of service. Would look if i ever needed any other repairs.



reviewicon
07/22/2017

Wanted to give a big thanks to Rick Lamping and the staff at Cincinnati Transmission Specialists. After a few issues with my husbands car we were referred to Rick and his staff. I can't even begin to describe how happy we are with the service we received. From start to finish we received nothing but impeccable professionalism, and honesty. Rick was very thorough with explaining the repairs that needed to be done. By him explaining the how's, and the why's, made it easier to understand how important it was to do the repairs needed. My husband and I wanted to thank Rick and his staff for taking such great care of us and Cincinnati Transmission Specialists will be the first place we call with our car repair needs in the future.



reviewicon
05/25/2018

They just replaced the clutch on my heavy duty diesel pickup. Not only did they provide great service great expertise they also recommended and installed the best clutch for my uses and my vehicle. We replaced a south bend dual disk clutch so my expectations were extremely high. The clutch they chose and installed not only works perfectly even when hooked to a large trailer pulling my excavator up a large hill, but it?s also made the truck much more drivable compared to what I had before. It?s truly like a different truck. Thanks Josh and Rick for taking such fine care of my vehicle



reviewicon
06/15/2018

Josh Meyer and his team were great to work with. My experience was nothing less than outstanding!!! I called Cincinnati Transmission to get a 2nd opinion of a diagnosis of transmission issues from another business with my 2008 Toyota Sienna. He offered to squeeze it into his already full and busy schedule because of a upcoming trip I had planned. He was incredibly thorough in his inspection of my van and determined that it did not need a transmission replacement at all! Rather the issue was a clogged air filter and a dirty throttle body sensor! It was a huge savings to me and gave me peace of mind that everything was okay with my van. Josh saved me the huge expense of needless and ficticious work that another place wanted to perform. Josh was easy to work with, returned phone calls as needed, and even sent pictures of what the issues were. I will be a returning custumer and recommending this local business to all my friends!!!



coupons

$59.99 Diagnostic Service

view coupon

If you choose to have the repairs done with us, we will credit this amount toward your total bill.

  • Car Care Aware

Testimonials

, 07/20/2020
Josh and Rick at Cincinnati Transmission are amazing, honest, and knowledgeable. This is absolutely the only place to take your car!
view all reviews
TAP TO CALL NOW 513-530-8726 X